A week on the beach

A week on the beach

This week I’ve been back to my home town of Folkestone. Whilst I couldn’t take the chickens with me, I did take my other half and our new puppy, Smudge. Even though she gets on with the chickens and we could have left the chooks to babysit Smudge, we figured we’d give the hens a break from being terrorised by a puppy. Plus, Smudge had to see the beach.

Being in the middle of the countryside and busy with jobs and chickens, I don’t often get to go home and see my family so this week has been rather special to me. As well as showing the puppy the sea and watching her wind herself up over the sand being too soft to walk on, it was also my nan’s 70th Birthday so it was nice to celebrate that with her and the rest of my family.​

 A natural water baby: Smudges first swim!

Beach babe: Smudge posing on the beach
Happy Birthday Granny, hope you had a great day!

Everyone got to have a cuddle with Smudge and a taste of a few homemade cakes that I made special for the occasion. The Victoria sponge turned out great, but the coffee cake was a little flat (I put in too much coffee!) but still tasted like coffee cake so I was pretty happy with the outcome 🙂 

Victoria sponge: a yummy success
Coffee cake: a little flat but no flop on taste
It’s been a great week with everyone and now that it’s rained all the time since we’ve been back, it’s a shame that it’s all over. Still it’s good to the chickens again 🙂

Leave a Reply

