Getting Ready for the New Arrivals!

Getting Ready for the New Arrivals!

If you didn’t already know, I’m getting chickens and I’m slightly really excited. It’s something that me and my other half have discussed for a while but now that the plans are in motion it finally feels real.

Before getting them, they’ll obviously need somewhere to move into. The garden is open at the moment but the plan is to build them an enclosure at the bottom of the garden. With the coop inside the enclousre, they’ll be able to come and go as they please but still be protected.

We got a second hand coop from a friend and took it back to the house. Once home, we painted it a nice blue so that we can see it from the house and reassembled it. I did a bit of research before to make sure that blue was a good colour for chickens. It seems that it’s all individual preference and their history that influences which colours upset them. Hopefully that won’t be a problem for the chickens we get.

We’re still constructing the enclosure so there’s more of that to come but it will basically be a plastic roof that will cover the coop and the space to the side of the coop spanning the width of the garden.

It’s going to be a little chicken haven and I am so excited to welcome them to our home. I’m not going to say I’m a chicken expert, in fact I’m a complete novice. That’s what this blog is for, to share all the knowledge I learn about chicken keeping should anyone else want to start. I’ll also be putting in a few bits about (maybe chicken related) crafts and DIYs, just as a little side. I hope you enjoy hearing about the chickens when we get them, I can’t wait for them to arrive and share their adventures with you!

Leave a Reply

